Skip to the content


The PPI's governors - the voting members of the company - are responsible for preserving its independence and impartiality and ensuring that no interest group is able to exert undue influence on its work. There are over 100 governors, who have been appointed on individual merit.

Mr Andy Agathangelou Transparency Task Force
Baroness Ros Altmann CBE Independent Pension Consultant
Mr Matthew Annable  
Mr Mark Ashworth Law Debenture Pension Trustees
Ms Iona Bain Young Money
Ms Katie Banks* Hogan Lovells
Professor Nicholas Barr London School of Economics
Mr Tom Boardman  
Professor Philip Booth St. Mary's University
Mr Adrian Boulding NOW: Pensions
Mr Ronnie Bowie Hymans Robertson
Mr Robert Branagh Trafalgar House
Dr Yvonne Braun ​Association of British Insurers (ABI)
Mr Duncan Brown Institute for Employment Studies
Mr Richard Butcher PTL
Mr John Chilman* RPMI
Mr Simon Chinnery Legal and General Investment Management (LGIM)
Mr Lawrence Churchill CBE** PPI Chair of Council
Professor Gordon Clark Oxford University
Mr Martin Clarke Government Actuary's Department
Miss Nicola Cleal  
Ms Norma Cohen  
Professor Sharon Collard* University of Bristol
Mr Charles Cowling Mercer
Ms Michelle Cracknell  
Ms Margaret Craig Financial Conduct Authority
Ms Jo Cumbo Financial Times
Ms Jane Curtis Aon Hewitt
Ms Helen Dean CBE NEST Corporation
Dr Inderpreet Dhingra  
Ms Emma Douglas Legal & General
Baroness Jeannie Drake CBE House of Lords
Ms Mel Duffield  USS
Mr Laurie Edmans CBE  
Mr Andrew Evans PPI Honorary Treasurer
Mr David Fairs The Pensions Regulator
Professor Jane Falkingham University of Southampton
Mr Terry Faulkner  
Mr Campbell Fleming Aberdeen Asset Management
Ms Madeline Forrester* MFS International (UK) Limited
Ms Teresa Fritz Money and Pensions Service
Mr Bill Galvin USS
Dr Karen Glaser Kings College London
Baroness Sally Greengross OBE*** House of Lords / PPI President
Professor Ruth Hancock University of East Anglia
Professor Sarah Harper University of Oxford
Mr Andrew Harrop Fabian Society
Mr Patrick Heath-Lay B&CE
Mr Chris Hitchen Boarder to Coast Pension Partnership
Mr Tony Hobman  
Mrs Caroline Instance Omnilife & Age UK 
Mr Jamie Jenkins Standard Life Aberdeen
Mr Paul Johnson IFS
Mr Tim Jones CBE Tibado Limited
Professor John Kay CBE  
Mr Dawid Konotey-Ahulu Redington
Mr Robert Laslett CBE* UCL
Mr Chris Lewin   
Mr Paul Lewis  
Professor Denise Lievesley CBE Green Templeton College
Mr Gordon Lishman CBE FRSA  
Mr Trevor Llanwarne CB  
Mr Stephen Lowe Just Group plc
Ms Anne Maher  
Mr Gregg McClymont IFM Investors
Mr Tom McPhail Pure Electric
Dame Jane Newell DBE John Lewis Partnership Pensions Trust
Mr Morten Nilsson  
Dr Alison O'Connell  
Mr Nigel Peaple Pensions and Lifetime Savings Association
Mr John Pearson  
Mr Darren Philp* Smart Pension
Mr Michael Pomery CVO  
Professor Debora Price The University of Manchester
Mr Julius Pursaill  
Mr Brian Ridsdale Chairman, Mortality Working Group
Mrs Rhoslyn Roberts  
Mr Tom Ross OBE  
Mr Alan Rubenstein British Coal Staff Superannuation Fund
Ms Jane Samsworth  
Ms Joanne Segars OBE  
Mr David Severn  
Hon Nick Sherry Sherry ad Associates International
Ms Teresa Sienkiewicz OBE  
Mr Derek Sloan Allen & Overy
Mr Ruston Smith Tesco Stores Limited
Mrs Margaret Snowdon OBE The Pensions Regulator
Mr Brian Spence Dalriada Trustees Limited
Mr Nigel Stanley  
Mr Paul Stannard  
Professor Holly Sutherland ISER
Ms Fiona Tait Intelligent Pensions
Mr Doug Taylor  
Mr Peter Thompson Capital Cranfield
Mr Otto Thoresen NEST Corporation
Mr Paul Thornton OBE Gazelle Corporate Finance Limited
Mr Nick Timmins Institute for Government and Kings Fund
Ms Lesley Titcomb  
Mr Anthony Tomei CBE*  
Ms Jane Vass OBE  
Mr Andrew Vaughan Barnett Waddingham
Mr Adrian Waddingham CBE  
Professor Robert Walker University of Oxford
Mr Andrew Waring FIA MNOPF Trustees Limited
Mr Nigel Waterson  
Dr Martin Weale CBE Kings College London
Sir Steve Webb LCP
Mr Kevin Wesbroom* Capital Cranfield
Ms Lynda Whitney
Aon Hewitt
Rt Hon Lord David Willetts The Resolution Foundation
Ms Lesley Williams  
Ms Natasha Wilson*
Oxford University Press
Mr David Yeandle OBE  
Mrs Carol Young RBS
Mr Andrew Young OBE The Pensions Regulator

*    Council Member          **  Chairman of the Council        *** President  


The Pensions Policy Institute is a registered charity and accepts donations from organisations and individuals.